Happy Healthiversary!

Today, the Monday before Thanksgiving, is a very special day for me. It marks the anniversary of the day I decided to change my health! So I’ve renamed this day, my Healthiversary!

before picture

Me, on Nov 23, 2009 at 267lbs

You might be asking yourself, “who would start a weight-loss program the week of THANKSGIVING?”

Well, I had been unhealthy my whole life. I was always eating way too much, I hadn’t really exercised since middle school, and I was creeping up close to 300lbs. While my blood work said I was ok [NOTE: “OK” does NOT mean healthy], I was not HAPPY with who I was physically.

And that particular Monday seemed as good as any to start. What was I going to miss out on? Stuffing, potatoes, pumpkin pie, green bean casserole…eh…well, I’d be lying if I told you I wouldn’t miss the green bean casserole! But the other stuff was just, well, stuff.

To me, Thanksgiving is a time to be around friends and family, watching football, while bickering while you debate which way to roast the turkey. It’s not about the gravy, the sweet potatoes, or the cranberry sauce.

This particular Thanksgiving posed an added bonus. You see, my older sister has gone off, gotten married and started pro-creating. That means Mom & Dad are now Grandma and PopPop and they travel to see the grandkids as much as possible. Perfectly fine in my book! I was very fortunate to become close with my grandparents and I want my niece and nephew to have the same opportunity.

That meant that I was flying solo for Turkey Day. The only decision was who’s party would I crash! I ended up joining some former co-workers for their celebration. I couldn’t have picked a better, more supportive group to enjoy the holiday – AND stay on track! They were more than happy to indulge in the sweet and savory dishes so that I would not be tempted.

I arrived at my friends house with my trusted supplies:

  • Three servings of raw veggies to steam
  • Medifast Parmesan Puffs
  • Medifast Pudding
  • Club soda
  • Flavor Infusers
  • Food scale
  • Shrimp platter to share

While everyone was drinking wine, I casually mixed my flavor infuser with some club soda for a sweet, bubbly drink.

While we waited for the meal to finish cooking, I nibbled on some veggies and shrimp, and the others enjoyed cheese, crackers, and dip.

When it came time to enjoy the main course, I waited for everyone else to fix their plates and take their seats to get to work. I popped my veggies in the microwave to steam and got out my food scale. Making sure to weigh just the right amount of turkey so that I was getting a balance of protein and fat (hence the snacking on shrimp earlier in the evening). I place my meat and veggies on my plate, then filled in all the extra space with my Parmesan Puffs…I wanted my own “carb” and something to nibble on when everyone else was going back for seconds…and thirds.

I took my seat among friends who curious, and quite frankly, impressed by my discipline to stay true to my goals and objectives. I really appreciate their support on that night and every day since.

May 2012, 75lb lighter, at the bottom of Mooney Falls, Havasupai, Arizona

While results on the program are not typical, I personally lost 75lbs in ten months and I have kept it off for over two years. My greatest accomplishment since losing the weight has been hiking Havasupai Falls at the west end of the Grand Canyon. I’ve never been very adventurous because of my weight. There are so many things I’ve wanted to do but couldn’t because of my weight, and this was one of them. Sure, I was scared beyond a doubt when I realized I would have to scale down a canyon wall with only old chains drilled into the wall to hang on to. But I was so blessed to know that I physically COULD do it…and to be honest, I wasn’t afraid at all.

So don’t let the holidays derail you from your ultimate health goals. Yes, enjoy the time with friends and family. Yes, it’s ok to eat the dishes you only have this time of year. But no one is forcing you to eat the entire pie, or down four helpings of stuffing. Enjoy each bite and the flavors of the dish, while giving thanks that you have the means to provide for you and your family.

If you’re thinking about changing your health, or know someone who could benefit from the program, don’t “weight” any longer and contact me today…you’ll be happy you did.

 

 

 

I'm just a girl, who wanted to change her life. Now, I help others identify their goals and live a healthy lifestyle. I would love to be able to help YOU!

Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Healthy Body, Healthy Mind
2 comments on “Happy Healthiversary!
  1. Nice post. Good luck on maintaining your goals (whatever they are) over Thanksgiving again this year. Your trip to the Grand Canyon seems amazing. I’ve seen it from the top, but haven’t gone into it.

What's on your mind?

Ready to Get Healthy?

DISCOVER YOUR OPTIMAL HEALTH!!!
http://bit.ly/TSFL_DYOH
Meghan Lost 75lbs!
want to stay connected?
Her Wallet

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

