I Have a Dream…

Some of the most powerful words spoken in the modern world. I don’t think there has every been a time in my life when I have heard those words and not been moved. They are so much more than what Martin Luther King, Jr originally intended for them. His words have moved far beyond racial equality between blacks and whites in the 1960s….

My boyfriend and I on the beach in Del Mar, California.

My boyfriend and I on the beach in Del Mar, California.

I take this message to heart because  like many Americans, I am in what others feel the need to classify an interracial relationship. I just like to say I have a man in my life who has love me and supported me for many years and we are planning a life together. I know that might sound naive to some. I know that we still live in a society that celebrates diversity publicly but thrives on conformity.

I know that the children that we have will be asked at least once in their life, “what ARE you?” I hope and pray this question will come with intrigue because I know our children will be beautiful, but I shudder at the thought of distain the the voices of strangers to the ears of babes…

But I can’t focus on the “what if’s” from strangers I haven’t met yet. All I can do is build my support system of family and friends who love my boyfriend and I and will love and support our children. We talk frequently about the life we want to have, the family that we want to create, and the message of love and support we want to share with others. I am so blessed to have found someone who shares my servant heart.

Life’s most persistent and urgent question is, ‘What are you doing for others?’ ~ Martin Luther King, Jr.

When people ask me what I do for a living, I smile and tell them, “I help people.” I have always experienced great pleasure and joy when helping others. Whether I am helping connect alum with my alma mater; or helping small businesses grow and succeed; or my ultimate favorite, helping people identify and reach their health goals, I look for opportunities to be helpful.

So on this, the 50th Anniversary of the iconic speech from a great man, think about what you are going to help others. Think about what you are doing to promote equal rights for all. Think about what you are doing to inspire others to grow and be there best selves. Think about what you can do to help the next generation…stay tuned for my next blog post coming later to day that speaks to this!

I'm just a girl, who wanted to change her life. Now, I help others identify their goals and live a healthy lifestyle. I would love to be able to help YOU!

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Healthy Mind
One comment on “I Have a Dream…

What's on your mind?

Ready to Get Healthy?

DISCOVER YOUR OPTIMAL HEALTH!!!
http://bit.ly/TSFL_DYOH
Meghan Lost 75lbs!
want to stay connected?
Her Wallet

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

